Forest of Secrets – up till ep 10

Da-yum, they are good! Not just Bae Do Na and Jo Seung Woo but all of them. The whole darned drama is crammed with pretty awesome actors. Well, stands to reason as many of them are movie actors and some have filmography as long as your arm. I’m loving what the writer and director are doing too. Then there are the characters. Interesting, intriguing, ambiguous and yet oddly realatable. I frequently forget that these people are made-up constructs, not real. It’s been a while since I’ve watched a Korean drama as good in every way as this one. Of course I haven’t watched every single kdrama there is, so I’m sure I must have missed a fiew. I’m sorry Signal, Tunel, Circle… et al, as good as you were, you ain’t on this level. πŸ™‚ Boggles the mind that FoS is the writer’s first drama and her resumΓ© is also very short.

I really like Yeo Jin, she’s total girlcrush material. πŸ™‚ She is warm and empathic but not easily fooled. Unless there is concrete evidence of wrongdoing, I think she is willing to give most people the benefit of the doubt, but only up to a point. Actually, people tend to dismiss her as someone unimportant and not much of a threat, and then she surprises them, ha. She is also rather tenacious, which exasperates her crooked colleagues and immediate bosses. Her method of tackling the cases is different from Shi Mok’s but she does often end up with the same conclusions. There are times when her outlook on things gives Shi Mok a different perspective. She is a great partner, even perfect partner for our seemingly unfeeling prosecutor. She is the only one that has been able to make him spontaniously smile.
Shi Mok himself fascinates me, he is such an enigma. What motivates him? Likely not the usual things like money, power or burning need to advance his carreer. But I don’t see his motives being totally altruistic either. So, what is it then? No idea. I also don’t think he is entirely without feelings. He does feel certain things but on a very low intensity. Nothing seems to truly faze him. People and their reactions puzzle him to a degree at times though. He is hard to read so I sometimes find myself wondering which side he’s on really. He acts in a way that makes me suspicious but then it’s revealed that he was just setting up a scene and giving someone a little ‘poke’ to see what will happen. Often he’d already figured out the outcome too. I think Shi Mok resembles a paduk player. It’s like he is able to see the moves, their variables and where each of them will lead, so when one scenario fails he has a back up plan. Not sure if he saw what happened at the end of ep 8 coming though. But then, you never know with Shi Mok, and they didn’t tell us either in this week’s epis. Unless I missed something. Lee Chang Joon is a awesomely formidable foe, and almost as unreadable as Shi Mok. I’d say they are pretty evenly matched in the smartness department.
Even though show’s motto is “everyone lies, no-one is to be trusted”, there’s no real feeling of paranoia. It’s all so… mundane. But that’s just the thing, it’s chilling how matter of fact those concerned are about the rot permeating the leagal system. These are the people who have sworn to uphold the law but they often turn out to be worse than the criminals they are supposed to apprehend. Fair gives me the shivers, that. I’m fascinated by the ever shifting loyalties and lines of alliance. There really is no honor among ‘thieves’, everyone is likely to do a quick turn on the dime if so needed, accompanied by a swift stab in the back.

Now that Shi Mok has the ‘license’ to investigate, things have started to move at a faster pace. He has already managed to rattle the cage enough to get the minions scurrying. Oh, there’s a Team too, how nice. πŸ˜€ I found it amusing how he picked the members of his team. They all have something to offer but apart from Yeo Jin there is a caveat on everyone. Yup, things are definitely heating up. Looking forward to the face-off next week – Shi Mok and Yeo Jin vs Chang Joon and his wife. I’m also waiting to see what the culprit/informant who started it all is going to do next. I’ve no idea who it might be – someone we’ve already met or a totally unknown quantity. I never knew I could be so riveted with a show about corruption, as most of those tend to put me to sleep, but I’m watching Forest of Secrets like it’s a high octane action thriller. πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “Forest of Secrets – up till ep 10

  1. I must be the only one who didn’t think Signal was all that. It was solid and well-acted, but it wasn’t mind-blowing. I haven’t seen Forest of Secrets, but Jo Seung-woo and Bae Doo-na are usually good in anything they feature in.

    • Well, I actually liked Signal quite a lot. It’s definitely one of my fave Korean crime shows. Just not as grand as FoS, which so far has been very, very good indeed. An almost perfect trifecta of solid writing, directing and acting.

    • You tell me. Signal is not a bad show by long shot, but it does nothing exceptional either. The characters and their intrapersonal and interpersonal conflict aren’t that interesting, the crimes are neither complex nor thought-provoking, the sci-fi element is left unexplored. One thing I can praise about the show is how neat it weaves such intricate plot. What people really buy from the show I guess is the emotional parts of it and I think this is highly subjective. I tried two eps of FoS and it’s shaping up to be better than Signal, at least Shi Mok is an intriguing character unlike everyone from Signal combined.

  2. *avoiding spoilers*

    Okay now I have to watch this. I picked up ep1 but 75min turned me off and didn’t continue after one scene. Lol. I guess i was overdosed with long length as i was simultaneously watching Goblin…where the length is 1.5 hr!

    • TvN and their extra long epis. It’s just in the beginning though. The funny thing is, I didn’t realise ep 1 was that long, I was so engrossed in the story. πŸ˜€ FoS has been scarily good so far. I really hope things stay thus till the very end.

Leave a Reply

