Drama Year 2015

Guess I’m doing this after all. 🙂

This year marks the “return of the jdrama”. It’s been a while but with so fiew kdramas truly appealing to me, I turned to Japan in order to get my drama dosage. Most of the jdramas I watched weren’t actually new, some were quite old indeed, but it’s always great when you come across undiscovered gems, or even nicely put out stories that leave you feeling happy and contented.

In an unexpected ‘twist’, the end of the year also brought about the sudden emergence of cdramas on the roster. Blame it on the lull in everything else I was watching that I finally picked up couple of cdramas on The List; Wuxin the Monster Killer, Love Me if You Dare and Nirvana in Fire. Then, just after I’d finished Wuxin, Mookie posted one of her pimp posts, which lead me on to the biggest surprise hit of the year – Of Monks and Masters. I more or less dropped everything else right there and then. I’m still trying to process what it is that made me fall for it so fast and so hard. I’m about to rewatch it, so there’ll most likely be another post at some point. Probably after Xmas though. XD I left off around ep 10 with NiF but as I’m about to start with another longish cdrama on The List, The Disguiser, NiF’ll be on hold indefinitely. Especially as I have Battle of Changsha lined up as well.

I finished total of 12 kdramas this year, which is one less than I did last year, but most of them didn’t make much of an impression. I’m still watching Dragons and Oh My Venus. Remember is on my To Check Out Queue, I’m sure I’ll get to it eventually. Dragons has been quite solid so far but for some reason it hasn’t hooked me to the point that I can’t wait for the next episode. The biggest disappointment dramawise was no doubt My Beautiful Bride, which totally fizzled out after an amazing start.

Next are my faves for dramas watched in 2015. In the jdrama category most did not air this year but they are still the ones I liked the best.^^

Korean drama
Heard It Through the Grapevine, Assembly, I Remember You, Cheo Yong 2

Japanese drama
Kita no Kuni Kara, Shinya Shokudo, Liquid, Gommen ne Seishun, Saikou no Rikon, Senryokugai Sousakan, Soratobu Kouhoushitsu

Chinese drama
Of Monks and Masters, Wuxin the Monster Killer

9 thoughts on “Drama Year 2015

  1. I didn’t like Saikou no Rikon as much as other people did – it got a lot of raves, but I felt it was just treading old beats. Didn’t help that I couldn’t connect to the four leads and thought the best thing about it was the two cats. Still have to get to Shinya Shokudo 3. I tried the long trailer of Nirvana in Fire, but was not impressed, so I think I’ll pass.

    • I liked Saikou no Rikon because of the leads… and the offbeat humour. Yes, the leads weren’t always all that relatable nor nice but I thought they felt quite real with their flaws. As for NiF, I rather liked what I’ve seen so far. It’s nowhere near as wonderful as Of Monks and Masters though.

  2. Out of your favorites, i only watched IRY so i can’t comment much, but that is definitely one of the better shows i’ve watched this year which also still left a deep impression to this day. I actually wished it were longer just because some of the main plots were still left hanging.

    I actually watched more shows this year than i did last year but liked only a few of them. Either i picked the not-so-great ones or the selections aren’t as good as last year’s. Here’s hoping for a more interesting spread next year! ^^

    • IRY was one of those shows I didn’t have any expectations for, so it was a nice surprise that it turned out as well as it did. A lot of it probably had to do with right choices for the characters.

      I’m pretty quick with Das Boot, so the not-so-great dramas don’t generaly last long with me. *g* Besides, I’ve become very good at picking stuff that suits my taste.

  3. Hi Timescout! A re-watch of Monks and Masters, eh? What a quick turnaround. Wow, you’ve totally fallen in love with this one 🙂 Must be a masterpiece. Btw, I’ve enjoyed reading your very candid posts all year. Can’t tell how many times you’ve made me laughed 🙂 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Cheers!

    • I just can’t seem to let go of Of Monks and Masters. It keeps haunting me, so I guess a rewatch is needed. 😉 I wouldn’t say it’s a masterpiece but much better than several dramas I’ve waded through in the past fiew years. Might say it ‘touched a nerve’.^^

      Have a lovely Christmas as well and all the best for the coming year!

  4. I realize I haven’t seen any of the kdramas on your favorites list! Heard It Through The Grapevine and I Remember You are on my list, but it may take me a while to get to them. The genres aren’t my usual, so I need to be in the right mood for them. IRY is now more firmly on the list, since I’ve come to a new-found appreciation for him in AM1988. He’s a very good actor! Well, I must be one of the latest to the bandwagon, I’d been indifferent to him until AM1988 😛

    I feel similarly about Dragons.. It’s solid, but it’s definitely not blowing me away. I do wonder if it’s because NIF ruined me for other dramas. It’s a little similar in its set-up, but NIF is just so much more elegant and refined 😛

    …Which brings me to say, I really really hope you go back to NIF coz I think you’d likely enjoy it! 🙂

    • My tastes generally skirt around the more popular fare, so I’m always sort of amazed when other people actually find dramas I like appealing too, LOL!

      Grapevine is such a solid drama. Quite a bit of food for thought but not depressingly heavy, though some of the topics may be on the weighty side. There is plenty of hilarity, especially in the early episodes but wicked, dry humour is sprinkled here and there all through. 🙂 I think you may find it to your liking too. The cast is grand. The younsters hold their own (Go Ah Sung especially is wonderful) but it’s the older, more esptablished actors that truly shine. Yoo Joon Sang and Yoo Ho Jung are just brilliant as the ridiculously snobbish, prejudiced couple with their social mores and thinking harking back to ‘joseon era’. Supporting cast is spot on too.

      Yup, Park Bo Gum is very good in IRY and makes a lovely ‘bookend’ with SIG. XD

      There’s just something missing in Dragons, something that would elevate it to ‘must watch now’ category. I tend to forget about it between episodes, heh. NiF is definitely more gripping in it’s storytelling and I’m sure I’ll get back to it at some point.

Leave a Reply

