Heard It Through the Grapevine – The End

So, it has finally time to say ‘good bye’ to the wonderful characters of Grapevine. I have no complaints about how the story was wrapped up and frankly don’t quite understand some of the grumbling I’ve seen around the internets. Some viewers seem to be disapointed that the ending was unrealistic but I believe they are missing the point. Grapevine was never ment to be a realistic depiction of the life of either the uber rich, or the poor(er) in Korea. It’s not a documentary nor a slice-of-life drama. There are parts that feel like they are imitating real life but if you step back and look at the drama as a whole, you’ll see that it is basically social commentary wrapped in an entertaining story. The writer clearly had things to say about some aspects of contemporary Korea and in my part I throughly enjoyed the end result. It was both a visual treat and food for thought. I don’t see anything wrong with ending things on a positive note either.

There are also also several parts that were never even ment to be taken too seriously. Like how all these people just happened to end up with the Law Rebels’ new law firm. LOL! Some of the humour was quite understated and it was up to the viewer to spot where TPTB were totally giving us a wink. Grapevine is a comedy after all, elbeit a dark one. The serious was always wrapped in different leyers of amusing. As I predicted, they left some things unexplaned and some threads untied but nothing I’m too curious about. I was always more interested in the personal journey of the characters than e.g some of the politicking. But that’s just my personal preference.
I rather liked the group effort in the end. I see it more like the Seo family, In Sang, Han servants, and to some extent The Law Rebels too, made up an extended family, there for mutual support. They obviously care for one another and I don’t think it’s too far fetched that a group of people would actually bond through common experiences. Of course In Sang totally cutting the cord is a bit on the fairytale side but I’m open to the idea that maybe there really are idealistic young chaebol heirs, who are willing to let go of their worldly goods and inheritance to lead the sort of life their ideals dictate. There are even stranger things in this world. πŸ™‚
What you take from any sort of story is influenced by your background, imho. What part of the world you come from, what sort of family and culture you grew up in, what kind of life you’ve lived up till now or even what age you happen to be. Reading some comments on e.g. Soompi had me strongly disagreeing with what the writers were saying but I see it as their right to voice their own thoughts on these matters. I don’t have to agree with them, that’s my right. I have to say the discussions have been quite civil and ingelligent out there, regardless of the point of view. Not something you can always count on when it comes to public platforms like Soompi.^^

12 thoughts on “Heard It Through the Grapevine – The End

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog and whaddya know, the first post I read is about of my favourite dramas! I really enjoyed it and wished I’d checked out some discussions about the ending and the drama in general when it ended (I was left fangirling alone lol).

  2. It is true the ending left some threads open but the viewer can speculate on those bits without going crazy. However my greatest disappointment was that there was not even a hint of regret on Attorney Han’s part. His house was empty,his family gone and somehow he was just stoic about it. Maybe in the end the writers were trying to tell us that his money and reputation are what he valued most but for me it left a sour taste in my mouth. I could have done with a fairy tale ending where he was concerned πŸ™‚ But overall this was a great drama and I would watch it over and over without hesitation. The acting was superb and each actor handled their role well.

    • Oh, I don’t think Atty Han was ever ment to regret anything because the idea that he is above everyone else was too ingrained in him. Having him suddenly have a change of heart of that magnitude wouldn’t really have made sense. I’m pretty sure that he did feel a pang of something when everyone deserted him but he’s not capable of actually admitting it or that he is in the wrong.

      Have you seen the other dramas by the same crew? Most of their ‘baddies’ never see the light, as people like them probably woudn’t in real life either and there is always something akin to reality in this pd/writer team’s works.

      • could you recommend some dramas by this team. I normally try to stick to Sageuks so HTTG was a pleasant surprise for me. I usually steer clear of modern Kdramas as many have proved to be quite disappointing. I would appreciate some suggestions. Thanks

        • I’ve seen two dramas where PD extraordinaire Pan Ahn Seok and screenwriter Jung Sung Joo collaborated to make couple of the best dramas in recent years; A Wife’s Credentials and Secret Love Affair. I know there are at least 2 more but those are older, from 1999 and 2000 respectively and not easily obtainable any more. PD Pan also helmed The End of the World which is considered to be brilliant by those on the know. I haven’t watched it yet as I so far haven’t been in the mood for a ‘zombie apocalypse’. πŸ™‚

          A Wife’s Credentials and Secret Love Affair tackle a bit different topics but have a lot in common with one another and also with HITTG. You can tell almost from the very first frame that it’s the same duo behind the dramas. There are also quite a few familiar faces as they seem to have a pool of favourite actors/actresses to pick from. πŸ™‚ Not that I mind as they are all professionals who know their stuff.

          Good reviews for both dramas: AWC / SLA – in case you want to know a bit more.

  3. Pingback: HEARD IT THROUGH THE GRAPEVINE. SBS. | IKurate

  4. Did you find it a good drama overall? idk, I was thinking about watching this, but I watch way too many Friday/Saturday dramas right now.

    • Yup, I did. Imho one of the best in recent years but then my taste doesn’t really follow ‘regular’ kdrama trends. πŸ™‚ I’ve so far watched 3 dramas by the same PD+writer combo and I’ve loved them all.

Leave a Reply

