Heard It Through the Grapevine – few more thoughts

Whenever I think of Heard It Through the Grapevine I marvel at the layers the drama has. There is the story about young love and teenage parenthood but more than that I think it’s about social classes and two worlds colliding. It’s also commentary on the absurdity of the life of the high and mighty. Well, that’s what I think anyway, TPTB may have other ideas. πŸ™‚

In some odd way HITtG reminds me of British period dramas, the well made ones that pay attention to detail and depict the lives of the upper crust with sharp brush strokes and keen eye. There is a certain similarity in the the olden world of the titled and powerful in England and the likes of traditional Han Family. Who else had thoughts of a high dignitary in a Joseon court with Han couple’s procession to dinner? The whole scene looked like something lifted from a sageuk. Which made the whole thing all the more ridiculous.

I can’t help it but I look forward to each episode to see what other new absurdities they will serve us. I take almost too much pleasure in watching the elder Han’s being pushed outside of their comfort zone. Dealing with actual feelings is totally alien to them. Repressing what comes natural and makes us humans… well, human has made Madam neurotic, bordering on hysterical and Attorney Han an anal control freak. Neither has any idea how to really interact with people like Seo Bom and her parents or even their own son now. They honestly think they’ve got it all covered, but their grand plans keep blowing up on their faces. Yoo Joon Sang and Yoo Ho Jung are wonderful in the roles. Well, there are no week links in the cast as it is.

Another thing I wonder about is if the Hans were always like this or did they change under the preassure of tradition and customs of the class they belong in. I’m finding it hard to see anything there that might give a reason to believe they were once more like their own children are now.

With 32 episodes to tell the story I do feel a bit apprehensive. Will they be able to keep up with the comedy thoughout? The plot can easily go really dark and depressing if not balanced right. But, this is PD Ahn and writer Jung Sung Soo, so I’m way more optimistic about the outcome than with anyone else at the helm.

7 thoughts on “Heard It Through the Grapevine – few more thoughts

  1. Concur with you 100% about HITTG. Very blessed to have found in the past 12 months Yoona’s Street, Misaeng, and now HITTG. I absolutely love how Yoo Ho Jung is playing the neurotic Madam–her panic attacks are priceless. I am just waiting for Seo Bom to stop being so deferential and to start asserting herself, creating the resulting panic attack in neurotic Madam.

    • Truly good dramas don’t come around very often so it’s been great getting more than one within a year. YHJ is wonderful, isn’t she. But then, the whole cast is pretty darned good. It’s one of the things you can always be sure about with Ahn Pan Suk dramas – great cast.

      Have you watched ep 7 yet? People are starting to show new sides to themselves. πŸ™‚

      • Didn’t mean to slight the other cast members. I’m beginning to suspect that the more middle-aged cast members that the show has, the better the quality of the show.
        Staying loyal to Viki, so I haven’t watched ep 7 yet cause their subbing is a bit slow right now. Too many dramas and not enough Kor-En volunteers to spread around.
        I’m really looking forward to the Producers since Gong Hyo Jin is my favorite Korean actress. King of Dramas was a great show and I hope that the Producers top it.

        • More seasoned cast often means a better quality drama but of course that doesn’t always hold true. If the script sucks there’s not much the actors can do. πŸ™‚ My personal makjang allery has moved many a drama into the discard pile, regardless of the PD and cast.
          I’m watching most things raw first these days. I regard it as listening comprehension, ha.
          Producers looks pretty good on paper so I’m sure I’ll check it out too.

  2. Although I’m not watching HTTG, I’m checking out the recaps..and I have to say, the Hans are hilarious! I love that the drama is not painting them as totally evil people, but is bringing out some bit of emotions from them..like the way they enjoyed the time with the baby. And the baby is SO CUTE!

    • I’m loving the humour and the fact that you never quite know what direction any paritcular scene will go. The unexpected laughs are the best. πŸ™‚ The great thing with this crew is that there are no purely ‘good’ or ‘bad’ characters in their dramas but rather just flawed humans. Only some are more flawed than others. OMG, The baby is ADORABLE!

  3. Pingback: HEARD IT THROUGH THE GRAPEVINE. SBS | IKurate

Leave a Reply

