Drama grab-bag

I think I’ve written this post several times in my head already but I never seemed to have time to actually write it. So, let’s give it a go then.

This week’s episodes of Heard It Through the Grapevine were just as awesome as the previous ones. It’s laugh out loud hilarious in places and usually when you least expect it. I’m thoughly enjoying In Sang’s a-poley parents’ discomfiture and their attempts at saving face with any means available misfiring on them. Every time they mention another plan in the making I start giggling as I’m pretty sure it will go hilairously awry. And yet this is a drama that has a solid and pretty serious foundation, which it never forgets either. They give us a peek behind the facade of the stifling and rigid world of the traditional ‘old money’ and what it means to be part of it. I do fear our young ‘uns will have a tough time ahead but I think they’ll make it. Seo Bom is pretty resilient and a lot smarter than Mr Han and wifey give her credit for. She’ll make a man out of In Sang, given time. Wouldn’t surprise me if she ends up running the whole house. Also, can I just say how much I love the soundtrack?! All those musical cues they are giving, like the horror show bgm playing when In Sang and the male servant were creeping around the house. It just amuses me no end how much TPTB seem to enjoy doing this project.

Heart to Heart took the fast train to Angstville thus earning a filthy look from me. Have I mentioned how much I hate the needless ending angst? Even with the more serious moments this drama was oddly warm&fuzzy, it didn’t really need to go ‘there’ for the last few episodes. I knew that they had to somehow explain both Hong Do’s social phobia and Yi Suk’s problems but couldn’t they find some other way to do it? It felt like I wasn’t watching the same drama at all anymore. Not happy about that past connection trope either. I new that the OTP would sort things out in the end as they are that sort of people but something was lost during all that angsting. The connection I had with the drama just sort of evaporated and out went the previous enjoyment of watching it with it. Gold star goes to Se Ro. She started out this mildly annoying comic relief but turned out to be the most together and level headed character of them all. I really liked her in the end.

Another show wringing tears this past week was Kill Me, Heal Me but as it always had this more serious undercurrent, never far from the surface, the moment the shit hit the fan never felt out of place but rather an orangic development. This is where the story was always ment to go. It wasn’t a tag-on but an essential part of the whole. Ji Sung is still going on all cylinders here. He is truly acting his heart out and makes a pretty great team with Hwang Jung Eum. The rest of the cast ain’t bad either.

Decided to drop Persevere Ho Hae Ra. I was loosing interest by each epi and the love triangle bores me to tears. I don’t know what people see in Se Jong but to I think he is as intriguing as colour beige. Ray is only marginally more interesting but that might just be because I have a soft spot for Jin Young. 🙂 Save for Tae Poong the rest of the characters don’t have much of an impact on anything, they are just sort of there. It’s gone back to being a collection of scenes stiched together with musical numbers. Plot, what plot? Even the fun seems to be gone, gone, gone. I dozed through the latest episode and finally thought “why is it I’m watching this again?” Time me and drama parted ways, I’d say.

In the first impressions section we have Bluebird’s House and Unkind Women. As I’m slightly demented I decided to check out both. I rather liked Bluebird’s House to begin with but as the episodes went by I started to loose interest. I’m already bored enough to ff through most of the episodes and the plot is as predictable as can be, so I’m giving it das boot. On the other hand the first epi of Unkind Women didn’t exactly set me a-fire with interest and there was some rather annoying overacting going on. I think the fact that I had a hard time following the dialog had something to do with it too. Second ep was already more interesting, so I’m giving it a few more weeks before I make up my mind. The whole things has the trappings to go full on makjangy melo at some point so I’m a bit wary but so far things seem to be ok on that front.

Leave a Reply

