The current watch list… sorta

Know what, I’m pretty happy with my current drama choices. None of them have me panting for the next episode but they make me happy, each in their own way. And that’s what matters, really.

Kill Me, Heal Me turned out to be lot better than I expected. I guess that’s rather the common assessment of the drama. There were so many people doubting that anything would come out of a drama that had so many problems in getting everything together. Just goes to show that you really can’t tell how things will turn out in the end. There have been several very hyped up and looked forward to dramas that have turned out to be solid disappointments too. I think they were very, very lucky to get Ji Sung to fill in on the lead position, right at the last minute. He is the one that drives the drama and gives it it’s emotional centre. There’s also the comfortable way he and Hwang Jung Eum act together. The elusive ‘chemistry’ at work. I’m just as intrigued as everyone else about the central mystery of who Do Hyun really is and what is his connection with Ri Jin and Ri On. I have a theory or two but I’m probably just as far off with them as the next person, ha. Show is very good at muddying the waters and probably filled with red herrings too. This is one show I do like to speculate and can’t wait to see how wrong… or right I actually was. πŸ™‚ I’m also glad it still has funny moments but we are now at that point of the story that usually ushers in the aaannnngst. I’m just hoping they’ll make it organic and something that fits in. Manufactured angst is one of my pet peeves and it usually manages to disrupt the flow of the story as the strings of the pupetteer become overly obvious. I’d like to feel them emotions, not be forced to accept the angsty bits as something that starts about ep 11 because the Grand Kdarama Manual says so.

Ok, I admit it, I’m enjoying Persever, Go Hae Ra quite a bit now. ;D The scenes have started to look like they are actually part of a whole and I think the young cast has finally found the flow and don’t seem so awkward anymore. It’s also laugh out loud funny at times. Most of the fun served by Shim Hyung Tak’s Tae Poong. He is fracking hi-la-ri-ous! I love the guy. OMG! I feel like giggling just thinking about ep 5. LOL! The drama is at it’s best when it’s fun or in the more quiet, contemplative and heartwarming moments. It’s the times they try to go full on angst when things sorta fall appart. I’m just not buying it.

Heart to Heart is my darling atm. It just makes me feel overly happy and content. I’m not big on shipping but Hong Do & Yi Suk are SO darned cute. PIE especially makes me squee, he’s so, so adorable. XD Hong Do is my girl. Quirky and lovable with the ability to see things other’s don’t. She is so wonderfully direct with everything, not just with her feelings. I love how compatible those two are. They don’t so much complete each other than complement each other. Each brings the other out of his/her shell and makes the other bloom. The courting isn’t without it’s conflicts but they get solved at lightning speed. I guess I’ve become sort conditioned to expect a misunderstanding or some other mishap that gets dragged out for episodes on end but not so in HtH. These people actually talk to each other. They may get angry or disappointed at something the other does… or does not, as it may be but they talk things through. I actually really like how all the chacters have been drawn so far. Even Ahn So Hee’s Se Ro has a proper place in the scheme of things, she isn’t just annoying filler like it seemed to begin with. Oh, and I wish some people would give the ‘but he’s acting so unethically!’ a rest. What kdrama profession actually has been presented as it is in reality? Drama psychology is just like e.g drama medicine or drama law & order – nothing much to do with real life.

Not talking about Healer. It’s in the doghouse.

2 thoughts on “The current watch list… sorta

  1. Okay…this is funny that I’m not watching either of the shows you mentioned here πŸ˜‰
    KMHM seems funny but I can’t stand the female lead’s constant screaming and over-emotions…so I skipped it.
    HTH was never in my plan….as wasn’t Persever GHR….

    I’m watching Healer, Hyde,Jekyll,Me and Pinocchio but haven’t seen any ep of any one of these since 1 week…I think this is that period where my K-drama addiction has gone down a LOT…I don’t feel like watching them….I’m mostly watching movies right now, and some American shows…plus, reading πŸ™‚

    • I go through dramaless periods too at times but it’s usually because I can’t find anything I want to watch. They never last long though.

      I’ve tried several western shows but the only one I’m actually still following is Backstrom. Not interested in any of the older series and the new ones (apart from Backstrom) just didn’t grab me at all. I’m waiting for the 3rd series of The Dr Blake Mysteries. The first two were excellent.

Leave a Reply

