Drama grab-bag

The brouhaha around Healer continues but I’m still not getting the “feels”. It’s an ok drama and I do tend to watch the episodes as soon as they are available but I don’t have any burning need to write about them. I’ve been pondering about the popularity and came to the conclusion that the main draw is a) Ji Chang Wook, b) Ji Chang Wook, c) Ji Chang Wook, d) the OTP + romance and the rest comes somwhere behind these. XD The story is journeying on a pretty well travelled path and the premise of a group of friends, one of which is coveting his friends wife, has shades of Resurrection in it. Anyways, with Healer I’ve got my Mon-Tue covered.

Kill Me, Heal Me turned out to be a lot more enjoyable than I anticipated. It’s sort of bizarre funny with some poignant and lovely scenes sprinkled here and there. Then there’s also the mystery of WTH! happened to Do Hyun to splinter his personality and how are he, Ri Jin and Ri Ohn connected. Ji Sung is wonderful in all the different aspects of Do Hyun. πŸ™‚ There’s something oddly fragile about the character, even when it’s Se Gi. Hwang Jung Eum still overacts like there’s no tomorrow but I don’t think it’s her fault entirely. PD Nim should really tone it down. Park Seo Joon continues to be a delight to watch. His role isn’t all that central, at least atm, but he just grabs your attention whenever he’s in a scene. Definitely holding his own.

I wasn’t initially going to pick up Heart to Heart but after reading few reactions to the first few episodes got me interested enough to give it a go. I really liked it! It’s delightfully quirky and just enough off kilter to suit me, ha. There’s a definite j-drama feel to it. I like the characters, yes even Chun Jung Myung’s Yi Suk. πŸ™‚ Boy is a prat but as that’s not all he is, he gets a pass. Most of the time. He is self-centerd and often thoughtless, saying and doing things without thinking how they affect others but I’ve got the feeling the rudeness is at least partly a defence mechanism. Underneath all that he is oddly childlike, which is something he shares with Choi Kang Hee’s Hong Do. Both are also socially inept, only it manifests differently. I love Hong Do, she is a bundle of contradictions. Extremely shy and wary of people and yet curious about many things and can be very opinionated and vocal but only with Yi Suk or when in disguise it seems. Her years long crush on Detective Jang is adorable but it’s just that – a crush mixed up with hero worship. The good detective is a typical 2nd lead, too nice. His soft approach to Hong Do has not been able to bring her out of her shell. What she needed was someone like Yi Suk who barged through her barreers by treating her just like he treats everyone else. ;P They connect; she cancells out his inability to deal with certain people and he her social phobia and blushing. Together they make a pretty good team. If only he could stop turning into a 3rd grader half the time he is with her. The stunts he pulls thinking they are funny… I’d be ready strangle him too.^^

Still undecided about Persevere Goo Hae Ra. The 3rd epi was slightly better than the two before but it’s still mostly just a collection of scenes stitched together and acting is all over the place. The plot moves at a snails pace and as this is a once a week drama, it feels even slower. None of the leads are as easily and instantly appealing as Sul Chan was, I had such a soft spot for that boy. *g* They are all sorta colourless. I’m also not too thrilled about the use of ‘flash forward’ in the beginning of each epi. It’s clunky and doesn’t really add anything relevant to the episode. Still, I’m mildy interesed in seeing how the ‘new’ addition will shake things up.

I couldn’t muster any interest in the new Binnie drama. Also checked out Shine or Go Crazy but it’s not my cup of tea at all. Instead I decided to go with Ouroboros, which has all the makings of a crack drama. I loved the first episode and can’t wait for more!

4 thoughts on “Drama grab-bag

  1. I love Kill Me Heal Me too πŸ˜‚ am i the only one who really likes Hwang Jung Eum’s character? Haha. imo she’s so funny & adorable. If you don’t like it, i bet you’ll hate Naeil’s character on Naeil’s cantabile coz Naeil’s overreactedπŸ˜‚

    Ah~ What do you think about Hyde Jekyll, Me? πŸ˜‚

    • Oh, I don’t dislike HJE’s char, it’s just that the overacting could be toned down a notch or two and she’d still be fun. πŸ™‚ Hate is a bit too strong word when it comes to something like overacting. It can be highly irritating though.

      Not watching Hyde, Jekyll, Me – not my cup of tea.

  2. Out of your list, I’m only watching Healer, and I’m actually really liking it so far, 8 eps in πŸ™‚ For me it was a slightly slow burn, coz I checked it out purely based on the hype, and had no prior experience with Ji Chang Wook. I mean, I didn’t even find him all that cute (cue collective gasp from the dramaverse at large πŸ˜‰ ) Now, though, I am definitely beginning to understand his appeal. And, I really like how most of the show is treated and written, even though I’m actually not terribly invested in the backstory of the group of friends.

    I’m curious to check out Kill Me, Heal Me and Heart to Heart, but am giving them a bit of time to air before I jump in. ^^

    • Like I said, Healer is ok but I’m not paricularly invested in it. I enjoy watching it but I don’t spend much time thinking about it once I’ve finished the episodes. Not my crack.

      Kill Me, Heal Me is frequently quite hilarious. It’s SO campy at times and knows it. XD I like when a drama doesn’t take itself too seriously but isn’t without more quiet and reflective moments either. Ji Sung rather rocks his character(s).^^

      Heart to Heart turned out to be really good. It’s the one I like the most and find myself reflecting upon even afterwards. It’s one of those dramas that doesn’t have any ‘bad buys’, everyone is very likeable (though not all of the time) and that’s refreshing for a change. It’s also surprisingly candid about certain topics. I’m really looking forward to the weekends now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

