More thoughts on Secret Love Affair…

Sometimes I wonder…. if it’s wise to watch something as emotionally exhausting as Secet Love Affair. Because, as much as I love it, it is still… exhausting and we are just 4 episodes in. The last time I was this invested in fictional characters was with Karei Naru and I remember how well that went. Months afterwards I couldn’t even listent to the OST without bursting into tears. Sigh. I can see this going along the same lines.


I just finished my 2nd, or maybe it was already the 3rd viewing of the last 2 episodes. I can’t seem to stop thinking about the drama. Or watching scenes here and there. This really seems to be turning into a life consuming obsession. Just what I needed with other life consuming rl things going on. Ya…y? They managed to surprise me again. The story took quite a different trajectory from what I thought after I’d seen the first two epis. I had settled down to watch Sun Jae wow everyone with his playing, get accepted in the music college and then begin his rise to ‘stardom’. But, life has a habbit of kicking one in the shins and that’s what happened to him.

I’m actually not really sure why he decided to abandon everything and take up a post as a public servant. He certainly didn’t need to. Was it a penance? I might be reading things wrong but it seems to me that he blames himself for his mother’s death. Himself and his piano playing. Hence give up what he loves most and repent. Of course it’s not that simple or even that easy. And things go from bad to worse. As they are wont to. It was almost painful to watch Sun Jae strugle, trying to cope without his music and without… her. I don’t think he quite understood what Hye Won’s position in the equation was at that point but I’m pretty sure that got sorted out when he went back to see her. And she is still in self imposed denial. That won’t last, mind my words.

If the first episodes were more Hye Won centric then these two are mostly about Sun Jae. Yoo Ah In is doing a stellar job here. It’s great to see him act at a level he’s capable of after his last few unfotunate drama picks. I’ve always felt he needs to be challenged in his acting choices and someone to keep him in check. I guess PD Ahn Pan Seok is just what the doctor ordered, accompaned with a good script and solid fellow cast. 🙂

I had totallty forgotten that SLA is an adaptation of a Japanese novel; Tokyo Tower by Kaori Ekuni. I’ve actually watched the 2005 movie by the same name with Okada Junichi and Hitomi Kuroki as the leads. I don’t remember much about it as it’s been a few years since I watched it, but I do remember the ending. I don’t think they’ll go that route in SLA but I wouldn’t actually mind it if they did.

2 thoughts on “More thoughts on Secret Love Affair…

  1. I totally think it was penance. Those damn hand-warmers! And I got the sense he sold the piano and joined up almost immediately after the funeral. So he wasn’t thinking.

    Fortunately it all worked out! 😀 But yeah — not a predictable drama at all.

    • I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who thought so. I just didn’t see any other, real reason for his abrupt departure as he really didn’t need to, imho.

      Nope, not a predictable drama at all. Which is one major reason I love it.

Leave a Reply

